Prison Law Blog

Sara Mayeux

Spring Hiatus

leave a comment »

Barring any big developments (like a SCOTUS decision in Plata? that would be nice) the blog will be mostly on hiatus for the next couple of weeks as I finish up my many end-of-quarter obligations here in academia-land and then head into the bowels of the library for a big research project. In the meantime, for aggregation of criminal justice news, I recommend The Crime Report and for anything else, check my blogroll on the right-hand side of the page. Or go wild in my archives: I don’t even remember what all is in there!

I also recommend that you check out this brand-new book that’s definitely on the top of my stack of things to read: The Toughest Beat, Joshua Page‘s new history of the California Correctional Peace Officers Association, aka prison guards’ union. Hopefully I’ll get around to posting something more detailed about it soon, but in the meantime, I can safely say that anyone who reads this blog should read it: it’s the first really thorough study of the CCPOA, an organization that has been the subject of much speculation and public handwringing, going all the way up the chain to Supreme Court Justice Kennedy. And now it has double relevance since we are in the midst of a national discussion about the merits and drawbacks of public employee unions.

Written by sara

March 2, 2011 at 7:58 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 183 other followers

